Enjoy The Amazing Ashtanga Yoga Practice


Ashtanga Yoga is a kind of yoga which is taught by K. Pattabhi Jois. Another name for this kind of yoga is Eight Limb Yoga which started with an idea by someone name Pattanjali. It shows that eight spiritual practices are the way of purification.

Ashantanga Yoga can by symbolized by 4 limbs called Asana, Pranayama, niyama and yama. These are intended processes to purify that which can be corrected on the outside. The limbs for internal processes are the dhyana, pratyahara, and dharana.

The method that Ashtanga Yoga uses is considered to be the only one that can correct the limbs. It can be very hazardous to the mind to use this kind of yoga.

It is not achievable to practice the sub-limbs which have the yama and niyama and the Eight Limbs of the external practices according to K. Pattabhi. The body needs to be powerful enough to practice this type of yoga. If there is a frail body and the sense organs are not operating at full capacity then it will not be beneficial to practice.

This is a philosophy that K. Pattabhi Jois has applied. This is important to understand so that in doing the practice, it will ensure that the body will get better and become more fit and improved.

Two things applied in Ashtanga Yoga are Tristhana and Vinsaya.

A type of yoga called Vinsaya makes Ashtanga and its practices very different from other kinds. Vinsaya is defined by the breathing and action which can be used to cleanse internally. There is only one breath for each movement. It is vital to sweat when doing Vinsaya. The procedure is being followed properly if there is sweating. When Asanas is performed, heat is created by the body which makes your blood boil and help the toxins leave your body. The sweat has much toxins in it. As more sweat is produced, the release of toxins increases.

The health and physique of the body are increased by the poses. It is made achievable by the series of procedures. Ashtaga Yoga has three postures that are practiced.

There are varied levels that the three are ordered in.

The Primary Series is the first and its goal is to align the body and help get the toxins out.

The Intermediate Series is the second and used to clean and open the energy channels which help cleanse the nervous system.

The Advanced Series is the last which is used to measure power and grace.

Another yoga foundation is the Tristhana which symbolizes the joining of attention and action in three locations. Posture is the first, breathing technique is second and the Dristhi is the last of the Looking Place. These three need to work together to achieve a function.

Breathing techniques are harmonized and synchronous. There is only one breath coinciding with one movement. Ujjayi Breathing is the breathing procedure used throughout Ashtanga Yoga. This technique must be constantly applied after every practice. It can help to be more proficient by maintaining a pose for a longer period and hold your breath during this time. This is a great breathing exercise that will maximize the internal fire and will help the nervous system to grow stronger.

Both Tristhana and Ashtanga deal with the sequence of Dristhi. The Dristhi is specified as the time when you achieve your attention or focus while performing the Asana. This allows the mind to be cleansed and equalized clearly.

Cleansing and clearing the mind can only be done in the Ashtanga Yoga or Eight-Limb Yoga.

To find more great Yoga tips please visit:

How useful was this post?

Related Interesting Posts:

Author: Piyawut Sutthiruk

Losing weight will keep you healthy and have a long life. Cheer Up!

Leave a Reply